Montana State University

Department of Physics

Montana State University
P.O. Box 173840
Bozeman, MT 59717-3840

Tel: (406) 994-3614
Fax: (406) 994-4452
Location: EPS building, Room 264

Department Head:
Prof. Yves Idzerda

For suggestions or corrections to the Web site, email the


Department of Physics

 It is considered a notable achievement to publish an article in the AAAS journal Science every few years. Publishing 2 articles within a year is quite an achievement. Prof. Charles Kankelborg and Dr. Sarah Jaeggli have each managed to place 5 articles into a this weeks issue of Science. Congratulations to Charles and Sarah for this very remarkable achievement! for the highlights.
Yves Idzerda 10/17/2014

 Positions are open for undergraduate participation in the Space Public Outreach Team and BOREALIS high altitude ballooning programs. More information...
Angela Des Jardin 10/15/2014

 Faculty grant opportunities now open for Research Initiation seed grants (up to $50,000), Education Enhancement grants (up to $50,000), and Research Group grants ($750,000).
Angela Des Jardin 10/15/2014

 Football fans can watch high-altitude balloon launch Sept. 20 from Bobcat Stadium September 12, 2014
Angela Des Jardin 10/15/2014

 Congratulations to Dr. Kent Yagi who was awarded a 2-year post-doctoral fellowship at Princeton with Prof. Frans Pretorius by the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS), starting August 2015. This is one of the most prestigious Japanese postdoctoral fellowships available (over 200 applicants every year)
Yves Idzerda 08/12/2014

Welcome to the Department of Physics website!

"Our department is committed to education and research in physics, the study of the fundamental universal laws that govern the behavior of matter and energy, and the exploration of the consequences and applications of those laws.

Our department is widely known for its excellent teaching and student mentoring. Our department plays an important role in the university’s Core Curriculum. We have strong academic programs with several options for undergraduate physics majors, leading to the B.S. degree, as well as graduate curricula leading to the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees.

Our research groups span a variety of fields within physics. Our principal concentrations are in Astrophysics, Relativity, Gravitation and Cosmology, Condensed Matter Physics, Lasers and Optics, Physics Education, Solar Physics, and the Space Science and Engineering Lab.

NASA’s Montana Space Grant Consortium, hosted by the Physics Department, provides college students unique hands-on workforce development opportunities as well as faculty research and education grants

Student involvement is central to all of our education, research, and outreach activities in Physics at MSU.

The accomplishments of our teaching, research, and outreach programs are a tribute to the extraordinary efforts of the faculty, research staff, graduate and undergraduate students, backed up by an outstanding and highly motivated support staff.

We offer an invigorating intellectual environment in a geographic area of unsurpassed physical beauty. Consider joining us for a visit, for a summer, a degree program, or a career!"

Dr. Yves Idzerda
Head, Department of Physics
                Additional Department Information